Line work’s all done

So I’ve finished up the line art from yesterday’s sketch, and instead of just showing the final look all together I want to show the way I use layers on line art. I have the line art on four different layers which you can see when I hide them in the screenshots:

Hair –

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 11.49.35 PM

Skin/Body –

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 11.49.39 PM

Swimsuit –

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 11.49.52 PM

Face and extra swimsuit Lines –

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 11.49.55 PM

I do this because of the coloring stage later. It’s not completely necessary, but I’ve found that it helps me be a lot more accurate and efficient when I want to adjust the color of the lines in the coloring stage. Black, or nearly black lines can be nice and crisp, but for this image I wanted a much softer effect so I’ve used darker versions of the colors of each area to ink with (ie: her hair color will be a maroony-red so I used a much dark version of that for the lines of the hair). I’ve actually already adjusted the coloration of the lines above but it will be hard to see until there is full color along with it (which I’ll be posting tomorrow).

I might go more in depth into this tomorrow now that I think about it…

5 comments

  1. Pingback: and here are the colors | BIX707
  2. skuby89 · December 18, 2013

    Very Nice! I’m working on some pin up of my own I love this style! Who are your influences if any?

    • bix707 · December 18, 2013

      Oooh that’s a good question. Off the top of my head I’d have to say Gil Elvgren definitely, and I’m really liking the work of Pearl Frush too!

      • skuby89 · December 19, 2013

        What got my into at least sketching out pinup has to be Dean Yeagle

        • bix707 · December 20, 2013

          Ooh he’s a great choice. His work reminds me a lot of Alessandro Barbucci or some of Jamie Hewlett’s work =)

Leave a Reply

