Ladies of Lit Illustrated Book wip

So I’ve decided to do a small book of illustrations (hopefully tbd before August for convention season1). The theme that I’ve settled on is “strong women of literature” and I’m trying to find more great characters. Here’s the list, in no particular order, so far:

Lisbeth Salander (Girl w/ the Dragon Tattoo trilogy)
Petra Arkanian (Ender’s Game)
Pipi Longstocking
Tuon (Wheel of Time)
Daenerys Stormborn (Song of Ice and Fire)
Arya Stark (Song of Ice and Fire)
Shahrazad (1001 nights)
Nyneave al’Meara (Wheel of Time)
Lyra Silvertongue (His Dark Materials)
Faile (Wheel of Time)
Aviendha (Wheel of Time)
Valentine Wiggen (Ender’s Game)
Hua Mulan (Ballad of Mulan)
Hermione Granger (Harry Potter)
Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter)

There are a few others that I’m still considering, but that’s the main bunch. I had to take a few names off the list too. I’ve been researching all of these characters, and some are from stories I read a long time ago… Unfortunately not all of the characters were actually a strongly written as I remembered. It’s pretty sad that I’ve been having such a difficult time finding strong female characters.

Anyway, if you guys have any more suggestions/requests/comments lay ’em on me! I want to make this book awesome so the more help and input I get, the better =)

2 comments

  1. caitlinstern · March 24, 2013

    If you put “strong female” in the listopia search section of Goodreads you get all kinds of things.
    I’d say any Tamora Pierce heroine, Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson, Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle (Diana Wynne Jones), Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews, Matilda by Roald Dahl…
    Don’t know how many of those you read/liked, though.

  2. bix707 · March 24, 2013

    I haven’t read any Tamora Pierce or Ilona Andrews (yet! They’re on my reading list now) but Mercy Thompson, Sophie and Matilda are all great characters! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

