Mural

Finally!

Alright to recap, this mural was donated to the Kindergarten in Sayulita, Nayarit. I updated a few work in progress images and details here:

Progress 1

Progress 2

Progress 3

Progress 4

Unfortunately this is on a pretty busy street, so getting a full image of the finished wall won’t happen for a while. I took a bunch of smaller photos, close up photos to make up for it. There was actually a weird kind of awkward photo shoot going on while I took these photos… Some girl in a dress too short to be called a dress getting a little too friendly with the palm tree next to my wall and about 20 people standing around watching.

DSCF4010

DSCF4036

DSCF4030

DSCF4038

DSCF4039

DSCF4014

DSCF4019

DSCF4024

DSCF4015

DSCF4023

DSCF4021

DSCF4044

DSCF4022

 

And there it is! I can’t tell you how many mistakes I made while I did this, and just going back yesterday to take these photos it was a little painful not being able to go back into it and fix things…. But the everyone at the Kindergarten (especially the kids!) are really happy with it so I need to just be happy with it too. Next time I do a wall like this there will be some pretty major changes in my process though.

3 comments

  1. Read Kirkpatrick · March 6, 2013

    What a great addition to the neighborhood! Something tells me Da Vinci could find some flaws in the Mona Lisa.

    Great stuff!

  2. joelrden · March 6, 2013

    I wish I could be there in person to see the kids’ reactions! I bet they are thrilled. I love seeing the finished product. The personalities of the creatures shine through wonderfully. Even a disgruntled (jealous?) jelly-fish. And that little sea horse … just perfect! Once more, thank you so much Meghan for sharing your process. Seriously. It was so much more interesting to watch it grow.

  3. Pingback: Seahorse Mermaid | BIX707

Leave a Reply

