Mural 2

I’ve been so busy commuting back and forth from Sayulita every day, I didn’t have time to post anything! I also managed to forget to take photos for a couple of the days… but that’s alright, I got a few in.

DSCF4001

 

Day one and two were just priming and touching up the wall, as well as getting a rough sketch laid out with chalk. I also did the blue/black and white of the sky, moon and stars. Once everything was ready to go I started laying in the base colors for the jelly fish and the turtles. I was picking out colors pretty randomly, to be honest. I had already chosen the paints I wanted to use, so I knew they would all work together for the most part, but I still had no real set plan for what went where.

DSCF4008

The next day I gave the turtles and jellies a black outline, filled in the orange and purple swirls on the turtle shells, and started on the jelly tentacles. When I stepped away from it at the end of the day, I realized just how empty my composition was. Keep in mind this is about 100x bigger then anything I’ve worked on before! I’m having to really force myself to use the entire space.

DSCF4002

So today I sketched/filled/outlined a few more turtles, plus some little baby ones. The jellies still need their tentacles, but after finishing up the little guy in the picture below, I realized that I was still going to do some background detailing. If I did the tentacles now it would just turn into endless retouching. So for now they’re floating mushrooms.

DSCF4003

I also knocked out the octopus today, too. He has an outline now but it’s not in the pic since I wanted to take one while I remembered to and before it got too dark.

DSCF4004

 

So it’s still pretty plain, but it’s getting there now. Tomorrow I’ll knock out the coral, seahorses and little fishes by the octopus, and maybe finish up the sky. There’s going to be a little bit of color around the big stars that are already on it, and then tons of tiny little plain white stars all around them.

My problem now is that I know I want to use dots as details (I’m addicted to dots!! example , example), but I need to find a quick and easy way of doing them on the wall, while keeping them fairly uniform. I’m thinking maybe a piece of cloth tied to the end of a paint brush might work nicely…?

One comment

  1. Pingback: Mural | BIX707

Leave a Reply

