New theme(s) and a Woodblock Print

I’m playing around with new themes today since the one I’m using right now isn’t working out. The lack of customizable options on WordPress.com is a little frustrating… but I’m still trying to figure it all out so I guess we’ll see what I can come up with. What I really need is a different theme like the one I’ve had up for the past few weeks that displays previously posted images in a sidebar, so they don’t get lost as soon as something new is posted!

Okay, enough whining… here’s one of the only woodblocks I ever attempted. The image was based off of a sketch that I did of one of my classmates while he was working on carving out his own woodblock (I have sketchbooks full of nothing but old classmates and professors). Unfortunately I messed up by jumping right into the carving process without really planning ahead. When I finished carving and printed it for the first time I realized not only was the clock backwards, but none of the shadows made any sense! A little adjustment fixed the clock (mostly) but there was no fixing the shadows.

Oh well, I still like the figure at least. He looks like an evil genius coming up with evil plans.

4 comments

  1. joelrden · October 16, 2012

    You say that none of the shadows make sense. Okay. But if that is why I never noticed, then the shadows are not important anyway, in this piece. Purely dramatic as stands, I think.

    • bix707 · October 17, 2012

      Thanks! I’m glad it’s not too obvious… maybe just me being too critical of my own work again.

  2. Miranda · October 16, 2012

    I had the same experience when I did my first wood block! My text came out backwards, but I was able to fix it. :)

    • bix707 · October 17, 2012

      Hahaha, yah the pros really make it look way easier than it really is..!

Leave a Reply

