Conventioning

So each year I choose several conventions to attend and it’s getting to be about that time again.

Conventions are great! No matter what the theme or source material they are always so much fun, and I’ve been lucky enough to find a few niche conventions that have an especially welcoming and art-centric fan base; they’re called Anthropomorphic conventions (also Anthro or Furry) and while I won’t go into detail on them (at least in this post), I can briefly say that they are generally not at all what media portrays them as and the fan base around them is really wonderful for a beginning artist. In fact, it was one of these conventions that I somehow stumbled into that really launched my career as an artist.

So now it’s that time of year again when I need to start making arrangements for the next year’s conventions and it’s a HUGE undertaking! I want to be able to make it to as many conventions as possible each year, but each one falls on a different weekend, in a different city, with different amounts of people (and potential profits), with different lodging and registration options. Not only that, but some of the larger conventions can be extremely competitive to get into as a Dealer so timing becomes a factor when sending in applications. Oh and then there’s the upfront costs of plane tickets. Yeeesh.

Despite all that and because of my lack of conventioning this year, my 2013 goal is to make it to more conventions then any other year, and to really branch out as well. I’ll be focusing on the West coast of the U.S. since that will be easiest for me to get to… but just researching new conventions/festivals/fairs/artshows sometimes feels like jumping in the deep-end without my floaties on.

Speaking of these conventions, here’s an image of a Kangaroo Demon that I sold as prints. It was basically digital inking practice, so here are the lines as well. (you’ll have to click on them to see any of the detail)

One comment

  1. orisianova · October 15, 2012

    wow! love this one!

Leave a Reply

