Wall Murals

Only in the last few months have my eyes really opened up to wall murals and graffiti. I’ve seen it around before of course, but I never really paid attention to it. I always thought of ugly tags when I thought of graffiti, or cheesy wanna-be-Bob-Ross landscapes in dentist offices when I thought of murals. I had no idea how wrong I was and now I’m making up for lost time.

I finally went out and bought a couple cans of spray paint and damn it was way more fun then I thought it’d be. But before that I tried my hand at painting with regular house paint a very simple image on a wall next to my house… with mixed results.

Here’s the image I drew on my computer first.

Here’s an absolutely amazing video I found yesterday to give you an idea of the pure amazingness happening on walls out there. So you can see the image on the wall didn’t translate very well haha. I ran into a few problems while painting; the texture of the wall was crazy. It took me hours just to get the base blue on the wall, and it never really filled in very well. The colors that I had my local paint shop mix up weren’t exactly what I had in mind. They turned out more baby pink and blue… oops. And then there was actually transferring the image to scale. Way tougher than I expected it to be! But hey, despite all that I’m pretty happy with it for a first try.

Oh, and here’s my color test for the spray paints =)

Now to make up for my sad mural skills, here’s a mind blowing video of MadC’s Jurassic Park wall in Germany.

4 comments

  1. joelrden · September 27, 2012

    I would like to see it in person. It looks extremely difficult to do. Your original is, of course, superb. Since you’re now talking another medium, one wouldn’t expect a copy. I imagine that is the challenge … to try to adjust to the new requirements. So, in this case, I think you really have to take the words “first attempt” at full value. Knowing that, it is superb. Starting to know you already, I know you are itching to improve. Geez, Meghan, leave some hope for the rest of us!
    P.S. The color-test guys are great! I love the way the mortar and bricks show through … along with their personalities!

    • bix707 · September 27, 2012

      Hahaha, I have to admit I already have grand plans for the next one (or three or four)! Next up is a stencil, and then maybe a wheatpaste image… hmmmmm so many ideas!

  2. robertleebeers · October 5, 2012

    Check out Duane Flatmo’s work online.

  3. Pingback: So I added to that mural a bit… | BIX707

Leave a Reply

